2019 Landcare ACT Awards celebrate outstanding Landcare champions

At the Landcare ACT Awards on Sunday 17 November at the historic “Lambrigg” property beside the Murrumbidgee River, community landcarers from across the Territory came together to celebrate their impressive achievements. These awards celebrate the efforts of individuals and groups, young and old, to protect the ACT’s natural resources, stewarding a more resilient landscape for the future. The award winners and their projects are diverse, from farming and indigenous land management, to educational and mapping tools. Dr Maxine Cooper Landcare ACT Board Chair and MC for the event, thanked the award judges and sponsors and paid tribute to the award finalists and winners as champions of the Landcare community.

Sunday afternoon’s Landcare ACT Awards event was a great celebration of the breadth of landcare volunteering in the Territory. The awards recognise individuals, groups and partnerships, importantly including First nations custodians caring for country. On behalf of the ACT’s landcare community I congratulate all the finalists and winners in the award categories. We are seeing real and substantial outcomes from the dedication and commitment of community landcarers. It is so important that we continue to support and recognise their tremendous efforts.” Dr Cooper said.

Winners in National Award categories (numbered 1-8 below) will represent the ACT at the National Landcare Awards in Sydney in 2020.

2019 Landcare ACT Award winners





1 Australian Government
Individual Landcarer Award
Rainer Rehwinkel Kosciuszko to Coast Volunteer
2 Australian Government
Landcare Farming Award
Matthew and Sharon Gregory Willow Vale farm
3 Australian Government
Innovation in Agriculture Land Management Award
John Lilleyman and family Amberly Farm
4 Australian Government
Partnerships for Landcare Award
Alison McLeod and ParkCare Volunteers The ParkCare Initiative

Parks and Conservation Service, ACT Government

5 Australian Community Media
Landcare Community Group Award
Ross Kingsland Red Hill Bush Regenerators
6 Woolworths Junior Landcare Team Award ACT Young Rangers with   Lori Gould ACT Young Rangers Club
7 Austcover Young Landcare Leadership Award Dhani Gilbert Aboriginal Student Leader Community Education Outreach Officer Mulligans Flat
8 Indigenous Land Management Award Jackson Taylor-Grant
Facilitator Aboriginal Natural Resource Management, ACT Gov
9 ACT Government Citizen Science Award Aaron Clausen Developer NatureMapr Canberra Nature Map
10 ACT Government Landcare Local Hero Award Lyn Jenkins Convenor
Macgregor Landcare Group

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *